Farveez Maharoof-Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year in 2003
Sunday Observer: 24.03.2013

Former Wesley College star allrounder Mohamed Farveez Maharoof has gone through a great cricket career. While playing for Wesley College, he captained the Sri Lanka Under-19 in the World Cup, opening the bowling and batting middle-order. His best achievements were 243 in an innings and 8 wickets for 20.

Every player should target an award - Sean Mackay
Sunday Observer: 03.02.2013

Former Sri Lanka schools cricketer and level one coach, Sean Mackay who was a recipient of many Sunday Observer School Cricket Awards during his playing days at Raddoluwa MV said that every schoolboy cricketer should target to win an award at this prestigious contest that will help them immensely to build their career and one’s confidence.

‘Oscars’ for young schoolboy cricketers
Sunday Observer: 27.01.2013

This annual contest could be described as the ‘Oscars’ for young schoolboy cricketers who could walk with their heads held high looking at their cricketing future. In an era where fewer contests were held to recognise schoolboy cricketers, the Sunday Observer took the initiative to felicitate young talented cricketers, and up-to-date this particular contest remains undisputed as school cricket promoters, these sentiments were aired by former Sri Lanka fast bowler Wendell Labrooy.

Most popular awards under three divisions
Sunday Observer: 20.01.2013

Voting for the 35th Observer-Mobitel Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year contests is in full swing with the reopening of schools for the first term. After 34 successive years of the traditional way of voting for the Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year, under All-Island and the Outstation categories, the format of the competition has been changed this year.

OBSERVER-MOBITEL contest gets spiced up in new format....:
More schools – greater the interest
Sunday Observer: 20.01.2013

The voting for the 35th Sunday Observer/Mobitel Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Contest 2013 under a new format has been encouraging as the coupons have begun to pour in. The formats under ‘platinum’ for schools playing in the division one, ‘gold’ for schools taking part in division 2 and ‘silver’ for the schools playing in Division III have created more enthusiasm judging by the number of coupons received.

OBSERVER-MOBITEL Schoolboy Cricketer Contests have grown from strength to strength
Sunday Observer: 06.01.201

The Observer-Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year, is one of the most looked forward event of the year. Most of the Observer Schoolboy contest winners have represented the country. In the schools cricket scene, the Observer Schoolboy Cricketer competition, is one of the best organised events in the country, where most cricket lovers look forward.

OBSERVER-MOBITEL has picked young cricketers for the future - Naveed Nawaz
Sunday Observer: 06.01.2013

OBSERVER-MOBITEL..... Going down memory lane for the past 34 years, the SUNDAY OBSERVER now with MOBITEL has done a great service to the schoolboy cricketers by duly recognising their capabilities.

OBSERVER-MOBITEL show has unearthed top cricketers - Kaluwitharana
Sunday Observer: 23.12.2012

Former Test opener and wicketkeeper Romesh Kaluwitharana says the OBSERVER-MOBITEL competition has helped to maintain a steady influx of top cricketers. This year sees the 35th contest. Looking back during the past three decades the competition has maintained a high level and has also produced many Test captains and cricketers.

Voting for the Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year begins next week:
Mother of all shows turns 35
Sunday Observer: 16.12.2012

New award structure under Platinum, Gold and Silver Divisions:

 Sri Lanka’s first ever inter-school cricket award show will celebrate its 35th anniversary in 2013. It is with pride and honour that we announce the launch of the 35th Observer-Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year contest.

Roshan Mahanama from Test player to International Match Referee
Sunday Observer: 17.06.2012

Twice Sunday Observer Schoolboy Cricketer (1983-1984) Roshan Mahanama aired his views on the contest saying that it is a remarkable one that gives due recognition to the deserving cricketer for the future. Mahanama aired his views on the Sunday Observer – Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer of the year 2012.