Observer-Mobitel School Cricketer Awards 2019
Sunday Observer: 22.09.2019
Kamil Mishara with the Observer-Mobitel Cricketer of the Year Award
Kamil, Umesha bag Observer - Mobitel Most Popular School Cricketer awards
Daily News: 21.09.2019

Kamil Mishara of Royal College Colombo was adjudged the Observer - Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer 2019 while Umesha Themeshani of Devapathiraja College Rathgama was named as the first Observer - Mobitel Schoolgirl Cricketer 2019 at the 41st Observer - Mobitel School Cricketer Awards ceremony held at the Hilton Colombo yesterday. The chief guest was legendary cricketer Aravinda de Silva. ANCL Chairman Krishantha Cooray, SLT-Mobitel Chairman Kumarasinghe Sirisena and Sunday Observer Editor Dharisha Bastians look on. Pictures by Chinthaka Kumarasinghe

Observer-Mobitel School Cricketer of the Year show today
Daily News: 20.09.2019

The grand crowning of Sri Lanka’s school cricketers boys and girls awards night - the 41st Observer-Mobitel School Cricketer of the Year popularly known as the ‘Mother of All Shows’ will take place at the Hilton Colombo today. 

The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd has organized the 41st edition of the grand show with sponsorship of Mobitel.

The Observer - Mobitel School Cricketer Awards will be telecast on Saturday (21) on ITN from 10 pm onwards.

Top school cricketers to be crowned today at glittering awards ceremony
Daily News: 20.09.2019

Good old traditions will continue for the betterment of the game as the 41st Observer-Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year gala awards ceremony takes place at the Grand Ballroom of the Colombo Hilton starting at 5.30 pm today.

The Mega Show which has rendered yeoman service to thousands of up and coming schoolboy cricketers across the country for over four decades is organized by Sri Lanka’s flagship English newspaper Sunday Observer and sponsored by the country’s national mobile service provider Sri Lanka Telecom Mobitel.

41st Observer-Mobitel School Cricketer of the Year - Nominees
Daily News: 20.09.2019
There are as many as 96 nominations lining up for awards at the 41st Sunday Observer-Mobitel School Cricketer of the Year awards today.
The nominations cover best batsman, best bowler, best fielder, best wicket-keeper and best all-rounder in the Division One, Two and Three categories besides the top award for Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year. 
CHIEF GUEST ARAVINDA DE SILVA: One of the greatest batsmen produced by Lanka
Daily News: 20.09.2019

Widely considered as one of the greatest batsmen ever produced by Sri Lanka Deshabandu Aravinda de Silva will be the chief guest at the 41st Observer/Mobitel School Cricketer of the Year awards night today.

De Silva, a former captain is renowned for helping Sri Lanka to win the 1996 Cricket World Cup and for bringing his country from underdog status to present day form. He has held various posts in Sri Lanka Cricket after his retirement in 2003.

Be courageous even if you are not rewarded - ANCL Chairman Krishantha Cooray
Daily News: 20.09.2019

All school cricketers should be determined to give off their best whether they receive awards or not at the 41st Observer-Mobitel award ceremony which will take place today, said the Chairman of the Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited (ANCL) Krishantha Cooray.

He said for the first time coaches of schools too will be felicitated at this awards ceremony.

The Chairman said cricketers from all parts of the island extending from Dondra to Point Pedro will be rewarded at this gala event.

Double winners
Daily News: 20.09.2019
Roll of Honour
Daily News: 20.09.2019

1979 - Ranjan Madugalle
1980 - Arjuna Ranatunga
1981 - Rohan Buultjens
1982 - Arjuna Ranatunga
1983 - Roshan Mahanama
1984 - Roshan Mahanama
1985 - Asanka Gurusinghe
1986 - Roshan Jurangpathy
1987 - Rohan Weerakkkody

Who will be the winner this time?
Sunday Observer: 15.09.2019
Flashback: Last year’s winner Hasitha Boyagoda of Trinity College receiving the Observer-Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year trophy from chief guest and winner of the inaugural event 40 years ago, Ranjan Madugalle, in the presence of SLSCA and Lake House officials including Sunday Observer editor Dharisha Bastians

The much looked forward to event in Sri Lanka’s schools sports calendar – the latest segment of the Observer-Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2019, will be held at the Grand Ballroom of the Colombo Hilton on Friday (20) commencing 5.30 p.m.