Jura left the country after raw deal

The 1986 Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Roshan Jurangpathy - a raw deal from the selectors with only two Tests

We spoke about one of the promising cricketers of yesteryear who had been unfortunate not to go beyond the top prize of school level - Rohan Buultjens last week. The outstanding cricketer from St. Peter’s College, Colombo, was only the third cricketer to win the Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year title after Ranjan Madugalle (1979 in the inaugural year) and Arjuna Ranatunga (second winner in 1980), both went on to captain Sri Lanka with distinction.

Article URL: 
Article Posted Date: 
Sunday Observer: 27.12.2020